Crowley Named to Help Lead Efforts on Iran Sanctions

April 22, 2010
Press Release

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Joseph Crowley (Bronx, Queens) was chosen by the U.S. House of Representatives to serve on a conference committee that will work through differences between legislation imposing sanctions on Iran passed by the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate.  Crowley is a six-term member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, and a member of the Subcommittee on the Middle East and South Asia.

“Iran’s nuclear program stands in defiance of international demands and respect for non-proliferation, and its human rights record is abysmal,” said Congressman Crowley.  “I thank Speaker Pelosi, Chairman Berman and my colleagues for appointing me to the conference committee on the Iran Sanctions legislation, and I look forward to putting together a bill that is strong, responsible and effective.”

In December, the House of Representatives passed H.R. 2194, the Iran Refined Petroleum Sanctions Act of 2009.  On January 28th, the Senate passed a similar measure, S. 2799, the Comprehensive Iran Sanctions, Accountability, and Divestment Act of 2009.

The measures, while similar, need to be reconciled so that a unified bill can be voted on and sent to the President for his signature into law.  Both measures target Iran’s petroleum sector, and would sanction companies that seek to support the energy sector in the country. 

House Members on the Conference Committee

Committee on Foreign Affairs:

Howard Berman
Gary Ackerman
Brad Sherman
Joseph Crowley
David Scott
Jim Costa
Ron Klein
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Dan Burton
Ed Royce
Mike Pence

Committee on Financial Services:

Barney Frank
Gregory Meeks
Scott Garrett

Committee on Ways and Means:

Sander Levin
John Tanner
Dave Camp

Senators on the Conference Committee

Chris Dodd
Jon Kerry
Joe Lieberman
Robert Menendez
Richard Shelby
Robert Bennett
Richard Lugar